Underneath the Christmas tree

After a rough week at work, the last thing I expected was to have done a number of jobs in the garden by ten past nine this morning.

The first thing was tending to the hebe, which was looking decidedly weather-beaten. It might have rained in theory recently but it would probably amount to a thimbleful of water over the whole garden, which was promptly blown away by the wind.

Then, whilst pottering out the back, I noticed a rather large weed sticking out from under the dead Christmas tree (which will be going in a hugel bed very soon). It turned out this weed was growing in a pot full of compost. It’s not the biggest pot I have but it will do for one of the tomato plants that is still waiting for a home.


The poppies continue to give me joy with a new display each morning. It’s also great watching the bumblebees find a way in through a gap in their petals. As I wasn’t expecting them to spread from their position last year, and I’m reluctant to pull them up before they’ve finished flowering, it does however mean I have less space for summer crops. Just as well I’ve got plenty of uses for green tomatoes!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Underneath the Christmas tree

  1. Awesome thank you for sharing Helen it amazing what we can find when doing things in the garden have a blessed day

  2. Hello! Came in from Greenfingers. Sound like your garden is doing very good. My poppies didn’t do anything this year.
    If you fine the time stop over for a cup of coffee, when you fine the time.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

