Mushrooms one day maybe


This afternoon I had an unexpected few hours in the woods. Sitting on a straw bale watching children having fun underneath the tree canopy did all the adults the world of good….

Earlier in the day, I’d been looking at seed catalogues, thinking ahead to what I might sow to overwinter. Amongst the choices, there were various types of mushroom but without an appropriate log to grow them in, they won’t be bought this time round.

However, a friend found a wonderful fungus growing in the woods. No idea if it would be edible but it smelled so lovely. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mushrooms one day maybe

  1. I’d love to grow mushrooms. One day we will..it’s not the right time for us either. The closest I’ve come to growing shrooms was from one of those kits, managed to grow 2 shitakes, then they died :(! wow, I thought they were foolproof haha 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I got a kit once – supposed to spray the mushroom spores with water to keep them moist and kept forgetting so no mushrooms materialised.

      Shame about the shiitakes!

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. I doubt whether I would eat it, but it sure looks splendid!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

