Mid-summer crops and flowers

Now the strawberries have more or less come to an end and I’ve pulled much of the chard up, I had been wondering if there would be a lull in garden production. Then I noticed the first cucumber of this summer.


I wasn’t sure if I should try to pollinate it myself, having learned that this might make it bitter. But I did get the mini paintbrush out, anyway. And I might eat it by myself, so as not to put my daughter off…. She loves cucumber but last year wasn’t too chuffed about my offerings.

I’m also pleased that the apples are doing well this year. There appear to be about eleven fruit on the tree, which will be the biggest crop I’ve had so far. And it looks like they will be a reasonable size, as long as they aren’t affected by cedar apple rust, which is on the leaves to a small extent.


The carrot flower is looking like the umbellifer it should and I am looking forward to collecting the seed whenever that might be.


I couldn’t get a decent photo of the carrot flower but here are some of the self-seeded marigolds, rubbing shoulders with the poppies, which are still going strong. I’d like some day to do something with the petals but for the time being I will just enjoy their happy smiles.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mid-summer crops and flowers

  1. Oh wow, your marigolds are gorgeous! Good luck with the cucumber!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I think it will have pollinated before the brush went anywhere near it.

      The marigolds are amazing this year. Different colours as well – I’m going to find out more about this.

  2. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Love your calendula .. Such wonderful flowers. Do you mulch your garden? I wonder if changing the pH of the Apple leaves might help?

    • Helen says:

      What pH do apple tree leaves need?

      I don’t really mulch. I put compost round the apple tree over the winter/spring. And I do mulch the rhubarb. But I don’t make enough compost for much else. Over time I’m hoping this will improve!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

