The north-south divide

Before I started the front garden make-over, I had been concerned that nothing would flourish there, since it is on the north side of the house. In truth, it is actually northeast-facing, so in the summer it does get a fair few hours of sun.

Nonetheless, I am intrigued by the behaviour of the poppies. The petals fall off the ones in the southwest-facing back garden within a day. But in the front?


Poppies are one of my favourite flowers, so it certainly gladdens my heart to arrive home to the above sight!

What’s your favourite sight upon arriving home?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The north-south divide

  1. Lovely poppies – my cheering thing at the moment is the roses in the front garden.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day i have poppies in back garden and my yellow flowers in front forgot the name will take photo later are looking lovely

  3. Our garden is north facing (we just have a back garden, no front) and it seems that everything blooms a month later than the rest of the village. I noticed today that my pot of geraniums is about to flower, which is a real sign of high summer!

  4. gaiainaction says:

    My front garden is also North/East facing, it only gets a little sun in the morning. This year I have put some more conifers/small fir trees there in pots, they are tiny really. There is nothing much flowering. Love your poppies for the dash of colour they give to your front garden Helen. Lovely!

    • Helen says:

      I think you could get flowers, Agnes. In the front garden I also have fuchsia, heuchera, marigolds, lamb’s ear and phacelia in flower. Mind you, the garden does get about six hours ‘ direct sunlight at the moment.

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Mine gets about half that amount of sunlight Helen, I do have a buddleia and I have two small trees there also, and little pink flowers called ‘pinks’ in window boxes I have primroses for the spring.

  6. Poppies are such Wonderful flowers! My favourite thing when I get home .. Is our place πŸ˜ƒ

  7. What a fun garden surprise, Helen. Your poppies are gorgeous. This time of year I get excited about the sunflowers as they start to take off in the heat. They grow quickly so there is something new about them every day.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

