An unexpected forage (cherries)

Today was one of those perfect days when everything seemed to go right and then some!

Friends visited us in our village and we showed them around the community orchard, which I have hardly been to myself… It’s that on-your-doorstep syndrome, where it’s so close you overlook it. 


We picked a few fruit there, only a little taste, but I was quite taken with the red gooseberries. I’m not sure I’d even realised that they came in this colour (as opposed to green). In any case, gooseberries whether green or red are on my list for the garden back home.

On the other hand, a cherry tree isn’t on the list, considering the size of my garden. Still, I need hardly fret over this situation, especially as later in the day we discovered cherries ready to pick in the park – another place I’ve actually rarely been to.


This time, my daughter and I went back in the evening with a stepladder to collect the fruit. She mentioned cherry cordial, so for the rest of the evening I’ve been busy in the kitchen making that. And tomorrow, I’ll see if I can make jam with the remaining pulp.

Home is definitely not such a bad place to stay at the weekend.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An unexpected forage (cherries)

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

