The will to live

This morning, when I opened the curtains, I got quite a surprise.


The pumpkin flower pictured above is on a plant which had been buried under mangetout plants which refused to stay on their supports. It had also been crowded out by chard and buckwheat, so all in all I am amazed it has survived, let alone started flowering.

The mangetout have now gone from this patch – the chard and buckwheat got cleared out earlier. And now the pumpkin will join the ranks of the regularly watered, as it hasn’t rained for at least a couple of weeks. Unless spots of rain count (I don’t think so!)

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The will to live

  1. Hope it bears some lovely squashes Helen 🙂

  2. Pumpkins plants are very resilient. I am happy they are flowering.

  3. Awesome news thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. Karen says:

    It looks like you will have a bonus crop…that is always welcomed.

  5. suburbable says:

    I had to look up the meaning of mangetout, it’s not a term anyone had heard of over here. Another name for snow peas…

  6. Plants never cease to amaze me .. Such a will to survive!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

