More of some and less of another

This evening, as I was turning the compost and moving that which was almost ready to the other bin, I noticed I didn’t have as much to put into the finishing off bin as I used to. 

At first, I was a little dismayed but, on reflection, this is the inevitable consequence of putting bokashi mix straight into the hugel beds, as I build them. In other words, most of my kitchen waste is being diverted.

Last year, I was very excited by the effect I felt the bokashi mix was having. The crops on top of the hugel beds seemed to be doing brilliantly. Not so much this year, it seems, as the tomato plant and peppers there are hardly growing.

However, I think this has more to do with sprinkling wood ash on the top of the soil: the soil is a bit too alkaline perhaps. And I certainly can’t complain about the poppies that are growing in the same soil!


Last night, my daughter and I started collecting the seeds from the poppies which have flowered. The bowl you see in the picture is just a small number of the heads that have been collected to be dried, so that the seeds are ready for storage.

It’s going to a long job saving the poppy seeds, but great to have a crop after the beauty of the flowers themselves has gone.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More of some and less of another

  1. andy1076 says:

    Sounds like quite the surgical procedure 🙂

  2. Awesome thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Isn’t it funny the way plants growth and vigour change from year to year .. Good luck with those toms and peppers ..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

