Kale moving outside


At work today, I was so pleased to see the students coming in with umbrellas. Perhaps they were dismayed but to me it meant: planting….

As it turned out, the rain had hardly penetrated the soil but if only psychologically it felt better to be making holes in the ground in dampened earth than in matter that was bone dry.

In any case, the first kale plant has gone out. It’s in a hugel bed where sweetcorn failed to germinate, so now I envisage this popping up around the kale. Not much chance of that but then kale seems to do better than sweetcorn for me – and it will keep us going for longer.

Ironically, the kale plant that has just gone out is bigger than the ones I pulled the first time I grew it. So, starting off inside has definitely been a success, so far.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kale moving outside

  1. andy1076 says:

    Given the cost of kale lately, I’m envious that you’re getting some fresh right out of the yard 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I’ve not bought kale, so I don’t know the cost. Good to know it is a worthwhile vegetable to grow from that point of view as well.

  2. Awesome update i have my two Russian kale outside have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

