The trouble with cover crops

The other day, I needed to clear a patch of phacelia to make way for the compost bin. I love phacelia as much as the bumblebees but a downside of using it has been confirmed in my mind.


One of the claimed advantages of a cover crop is that it reduces weeds. Now, in the featured patch of ground, the brambles were already there but I swear I didn’t plant the other stuff which I’d mostly removed by the time I took the photo.

Of course, the seeds might have been dormant. But that doesn’t alter the fact that in my experience cover crops just make it harder to weed.

The strawberry patch being another case in point…… And much as I’ve decided I like fumitory, I don’t think it would taste as good as the fruit. So, I’ve been pulling a lot of that recently.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The trouble with cover crops

  1. Hi, Fab blog! I am still in the very early stages – 5 months old. Just making efforts to link in with fellow bloggers to improve our followers and get the word out there for us both. I would appreciate you having a peek at my blog, as I have published several posts. Feel free to like, comment, follow or just take a peek. Thank you 🙂

  2. That’s an interesting though …

  3. Whoops missed my ‘t’ 😃

  4. That cover crops make it harder to weed …

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

