Free to a good home

We went on a fantastic walk with my French group today. It took us into the Yorkshire Dales, beyond Ilkley, a town northeast of Leeds.

Bronze Age markings in the rocks

view over the dales towards Addingham

Apart the conversation, which included learning about where my daughter might get the chance to have a go at playing the harp, as well as of course the exercise and the views, as we headed back towards Ilkley, I noticed that someone had left runner bean seedlings out to be taken away by passersby. Free to a good home.

How could I resist? Especially as I had had in mind the possibility of growing some in the latest hugel bed while it settles down, before moving the blueberry bush.


Absolutely smashing. And now I know what to do with plastic cups which unfortunately come my way!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free to a good home

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen… it is called “Plant Rescue”… and, unfortunately, can become very addictive!!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

