The difference a month makes – or not 

Last month, I decided to start a series of posts comparing the garden throughout the year, taking a photo on the first day of the month.

This was the garden on 1st July.

And here is the garden today, 1st August.


The garden as a whole looks less lush now. Amazingly, the poppies are still flowering, although I’ve pulled up at least half of the plants. To be honest, I’ve got fed up of them and am inclined to pull them out before they flower next year, if they are in the way of space for the crops I am hoping to plant.

The Jersalem artichokes have grown a little (above ground) and are so thick that I’ve had to water them as rain water doesn’t reach the soil. On the other hand, there is a space on the patio, now that the yucca has gone out the front.

Thankfully, while the flower seeds in the front garden have largely failed to germinate, those I planted to make up for this loss have even started flowering in the herb garden. Those would be the cornflowers – maybe the sunflowers will show their faces by next month!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The difference a month makes – or not 

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Looking really good Helen, what a very nice garden!

  2. outstanding and blessing Helen thank you for sharing

  3. Isn’t it amazing how much it can change in a month …

  4. gaiainaction says:

    I am just about doing a similar project Helen. Its really interesting to compare, a nice exercise for self too. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Oh yes, always interesting. I guess each year will be different as well. If I had better equipment I would love to do more along these lines.

      Anyway, I look forward to seeing your results, Agnes.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

