Savoury rhubarb crumble

My Panasonic bread maker has turned out to be a wonderful machine, not just for bread but for all manner of dishes which might otherwise be made in an oven. Thus, this year we’ve been having rhubarb crumble instead of endless desserts of said vegetable with custard (and lots of sugar).

I rarely read through cookery books these days but I am glad I had a browse for inspiration one day, as I came across a recipe for vegetable crumble, where you replace the sugar with cheese. Mind blowing!

Then at the plant identification workshop we did last month, I learned that if you can replace the sugar with cheese to make rhubarb more palatable. So, tonight I tried out the vegetable crumble recipe with rhubarb to see if indeed it was at the very least edible.


Yes, it was and as I’m still here to tell the tale, this is the recipe:

Parboil potato slices and fry an onion with a couple of sticks of rhubarb. When the vegetables are ready, first line a baking tray with potato slices, then put the onion/rhubarb mix over them before topping with another layer of sliced potato.

After that, you put the cheese crumble on the top. This is made of 2 oz of cheese, 2 oz of butter and 4 oz of rolled oats, rubbed together to form a crumb.

I put the crumble in the bread maker for thirty minutes on cake setting.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Savoury rhubarb crumble

  1. Love the sound of this .. Great idea, and I love cheese!

  2. Awesome thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Wow! Like the sound of that!

  4. That’s fascinating! And what a great idea using the bread maker to bake other things. Your recipe sounds yummy.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

