Okra outside

One of my favourite curries is okra with tomato and onions. In other words, I’ve been keen to grow okra so that I can have it organic, especially as I haven’t found a source through any shops.

The first year I tried to grow my own, I was amazed by the beautiful, yellow flowers. (Unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo of the ones on the current plant.) However, it was inside and I managed about one fruit a week.

I don’t think I’m going to have a more significant crop this summer but I thought I may as well see how the plant might fare outside.


To be sure, these fruit will certainly be fresh when they are ready but I think it is a tad cold outdoors. The plant certainly hasn’t grown any of late. Having said that, the seeds were old, so perhaps I will try again next year with fresh seed. 

And I will still have a curry this year, albeit mostly with other vegetables!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Okra outside

  1. I’m feeling hungry now!

  2. malcomms says:

    Good luck with the okra. We planted our first crop last summer and from 4 plants the yield was amazing. They yielded until the beginning of winter. You should be able to make some awesome curries!

  3. Awesome news thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. I love curries .. But have never grown okra. Must give it a go 😃

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Brilliant! I tried it last year but they did not come up for me. I will try again!

  6. How did the crop do in the end Helen? We didn’t grow any this year but we have 4 different varieties to grow next year..looking forward to them!

    • Helen says:

      I think it will do better in your climate, Kathy. I have two fruit on mine and I think the plant has stopped growing. They were old seeds but I don’t think that would be an issue, since they actually germinated. Shame as I like okra so much…….

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

