Hugel bed feedback

After collecting in the onions which had been growing on the first hugel bed I’d built (last July), I planted out more kale plants. 


To be honest, I was shocked at how compacted the soil was on top of the hugel bed. All the manure, bokashi mix and other easily compostable materials had totally disappeared, which I hope means there has been an increase in fertility in that area. However, I’m not sure how friable all that has made the soil.

At least, the newly-planted kale have covering: a recently acquired fleece mini poly-tunnel. This supposedly lets water (and sunshine) through, so I’ll have to see if it lives up to these claims next time I get the watering can out. The ground did get a good soak today, though, partly so that I could actually dig it and then to water the seedlings in.

On another hugel bed, the flowering carrot seems to be moving to the seed-making stage. The first flower head which has set seed has therefore been taken off and will go in the airing cupboard to dry off, ready for next spring.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hugel bed feedback

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Crops & Crafts says:

    You are doing very well, keep it up 💜

  3. Arent you good saying your seed! 😃 just keep on adding organic matter to that soil. And don’t forget, mulching will also grow your soil as well. Have you done a pH test on it?

    • Helen says:

      I have a kit for pH – you’re supposed to dig so far down but my soil isn’t that deep😕. Going on the fact I can actually get blueberries to crop as well as broccoli, I reckon the soil is fairly neutral. (Except where I put too much wood ash directly onto the soil – oops!)

      This year, the self-seeded chard has done so well, perhaps in part because it has naturalised for my garden. Hopefully, the carrot will be the same and I’ll have a better germination rate.

  4. gaiainaction says:

    It is lovely to get your updates Helen, bit by bit you are achieving amazing results. Kind regards, Agnes

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

