Blackcurrants

Today, at Old Sleningford Farm, it was one of my favourite workdays: picking soft fruit. In my case, that meant scrambling through the nettles to get every last little blackcurrant. (There was no obligation for me to do this – I enjoy the challenge.)

At the farm, they have blackcurrant bushes in their tens. In comparison, I have one which is only in its second year and has been somewhat stunted by an aphid attack. Clearly, they weren’t remotely interested in the marigolds nearby.

Nonetheless, its few flowers have produced a handful of berries. I am therefore thrilled to bits. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blackcurrants

  1. Great! Hopefully many more to come!

  2. I don’t think I’ve seen a blackcurrant bush before 😄

    • Helen says:

      Mine is just a tiddler – it will be interesting to see how much bigger it gets next year, though I am told it is best to prune for a reasonable shape, so I’ll have to find out how to do that!

  3. good luck. Mine have been very slow to get going – planted about five years ago and only just beginning to produce useful fruit – I think I may be getting the pruning wrong somehow but still hoping for an improvement. Let me know if you discover any tips.

    • Helen says:

      At the farm where I got the canes, I was recommended to prune so that the stems didn’t get too leggy. However, I’m not sure how to do it because they only produce on second (or maybe even third) year’s growth. In any case, it may be pruning which has slowed the growth on your bush(es).

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

