While the pumpkin grew…

Having got free tickets for the cinema, we had a lovely trip into town yesterday, which is how we came across the following:

The latest addition to Leeds transformation, this isn’t real grass and is presumably only here for the duration. At least people are out enjoying the sunshine.

Anyway, later in the day, determined to finish making a pair of pyjamas for my daughter, I ended up stripping down the sewing machine to get it working again. So, that was the rest of the day gone.


However, the pumpkin didn’t care. I think there might actually be two on the vine, so I hope the plant is strong enough for both. These are the scrummiest pumpkins I’ve eaten so far, so I planted four vines. Unfortunately, three of them got smothered by mangetout peas and parched almost to death. Hopefully, now they will make a comeback but I’m so happy with what has appeared while I’ve been pre-occupied elsewhere.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Make do and mend, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to While the pumpkin grew…

  1. We’ve got the same artificial grass/outdoor area in Bath. It comes with deckchairs as well. It’s quite nice although we’re lucky enough in Bath to have lots of ‘real’ parks too!

    • Helen says:

      Leeds city centre doesn’t have a park so I suppose this is a welcome bit of ‘green’ space – I hadn’t thought about it like that. There is the canal, though, and lots of real green space elsewhere in the city.

  2. What type of squash is it Helen?

    • Helen says:

      I’m not sure. It’s an F1, which isn’t great, as I can’t save the seeds (last year, the pumpkin I grew didn’t have any). If I’ve still got the packet, I’ll let you know, Kathy.

  3. I love pumpkins! I’m so happy to see you have some growing.

    • Helen says:

      I’m so relieved, Alys. It’s tough growing them here – partly because the season starts off late and we have had horribly cold springs recently anyway.

      I was amazed that your pumpkin could survive on morning dew – three of my plants, which have been watered less, are in a very state, although there are perhaps other reasons for this state of affairs.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

