Potatoes and adzuki beans

I gave up on the idea of growing my own potatoes in favour of crops which were more productive in terms of space and/or outlay (eg compost, in view of the difficulty root crops have in my soil). However, potatoes don’t stop coming up here and there.


I doubt I can eat the offerings featured above. They look far too green to me. Equally, it is unlikely I will get anything edible from the plants in the next photo.


These I did actually sow. At least in the sense that I found a packet in the cupboard and rather than put the contents in the compost bin, I broadcast them in empty spaces. 

Adzuki beans are not my cup of tea but perhaps they will add nutrients to the soil/act as a cover crop. And seeing that they are grown in the Himalayas, who knows how they might have fared had I sown them earlier.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Potatoes and adzuki beans

  1. Awesome update thank you sharing have a blessed weekend

  2. andy1076 says:

    I’ve never seen adzuki beans until you mentioned it just now ๐Ÿ™‚ interesting!

  3. I wonder if those beans are nitrogen fixers? I wouldn’t eat the spud either. Have you tried planting them in containers or bags?

    • Helen says:

      Yes, as a member of the Fabaceae family they are nitrogen-fixing. So, even if the beans don’t get very far, they will be adding nutrients to the soil ๐Ÿ˜Š

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

