Half a spade deep

Yesterday, I took advantage of the rain to move the fuchsia. It’s got quite big now and is preventing me enjoying the smaller plants around it. Besides, it seemed a sensible idea to place it in the part of the front garden which will be in deep shade in winter, when it is bare, and leave the brighter edge for stuff that might appreciate some sunshine.


The soil in the front garden was easy to dig, possibly because in addition to the rain it has plenty of ground cover (but not roots drinking water) to protect the soil. However, I could still only go about half a spade deep before hitting the subsoil.

At least the fuchsia didn’t need as much space for its roots as the yucca I planted last month. Nor will the latest kale plant, which I popped into a space where I’d cleared away dying clover fronds.

One of the teachers on the PDC had recommended I didn’t use clover as a green manure (I had already planted it the previous summer, though). I can see why. It has strong roots, so it seems it does need to be dug in rather than pulled out. Not that I could dig it in, even if I wanted to: by the wall, where the clover is, the soil is so full of ornamental pebbles, the half a spade deep elsewhere starts to seem like heaven!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Half a spade deep

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Crops & Crafts says:

    Well done, seems you had a bit of a challenge. x

  3. How funny…I’ve just left a comment about my clover on another post and here you are commenting on your own clover. I wonder if it’s the same? Tiny pink flowers with variegated leaves?

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it does have variegated leaves, though the flowers were quite big, much bigger than clover I’ve seen growing wild in lawns and such like. Do you have clover in your part of the world?

      • We do have clover. It used to grow in the lawn where I attended college. I’m wondering if it isn’t both cultivated and a weed. I’ve just looked for mine, and though I can find a similar flower, none of the leaves are the same. I wonder if I’ve been misidentifying the plant all these years?

        • Helen says:

          Without seeing the plant, I couldn’t say if it is clover or not but chances are it is either a different variety or it is small because it gets cut when the grass is.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

