The National Garden Scheme

Since learning of the National Gardening Scheme, I’ve been looking out for a place to visit. It would seem that not all gardens are advertised on the NGS website, as I have seen signs in the Leeds area when there was nothing on the Internet.

However, today by chance I was inspired to look for a garden near my parents’ and ended up taking my mum to see what used to be a quarry and then a horse paddock.

glad I’m not the only one who has piles of pots standing outside

I’d never heard of the village we visited, let alone been to it before, so it was great to add that to the list of reasons why the NGS is a good scheme. Of course, the fact that the entrance fee goes to charity is excellent and chatting to other garden enthusiasts is a very pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

any idea what this flower could be? the owner of the property we visited today would love to know….

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The National Garden Scheme

  1. Looks like a great place, and that is a gorgeous flower, will be nice to know if anyone knows what it is. Thanks for the post Helen 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

