Who would dig up a cucumber vine?

I had intended to plant out one of the purple sprouting broccoli plants when I got home this evening. However, it was already starting to get dark. And I got sidetracked by the sight that presented itself when I went outside.


Now, I have no explanation for how the gate, which has been laying against the fence in the herb garden, would decide to fall over today. Why didn’t it fallen over before, when there were gusts of wind? Today it’s been 2mph.

Fortunately, the bay tree seems to have survived the unexpected heavy object falling on it


and the self-seeded chard will probably bounce back. The cucumber vine which I found amongst some weeds which had been growing under the gate, however, will not. All that was left where it had been planted as the pole it was growing up.


The silver lining in all this is the discovery of a flower, which looks a bit like a snap dragon. I’m glad I found this.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Who would dig up a cucumber vine?

  1. andy1076 says:

    Whew good thing there wasn’t too much damage, maybe a random cat or a bunch of ants took a wrong turn somewhere below? O.o

  2. The flower is the silver lining…wonderful..

  3. thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. Such a beautiful flower .. That bay tree will bounce back

  5. Time and again, I’ve wished for a hidden camera among the garden. I’m always startling something as I quickly round a corner to the quieter side of the garden. It might be a bird, a squirrel, a tiny lizard or a mouse. At dusk the tree rats rustle in the trees and after dark we might see an opossum walking the fence line.

    This week I found one of my sunflowers, stem and all, wedged into a tree. The squirrels have been gathering the seeds, and I guess this flower was small enough that they took the whole thing. My guess is a medium-sized animal gathered the cucumber, knocked the fence gate in the process, then dragged the cucumber to the safety of the weed pile for snacking. I’m glad you discovered something new.

    One thought if the gate needs to remain there is to add twine and a hook or a bungee cord to keep it from falling.

    • Helen says:

      We don’t have wild animals as such in most domestic gardens here but a quick internet search revealed a reputable newspaper’s article saying that cats might be afraid of cucumbers. So, one could have jumped off the fence and this attacked the plant out of fear?!

      I hope you’ve still got other sunflowers to admire…. I’m still waiting for my flowers to appear.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

