The pros and cons of rocket

In 2014, I dug up the two rocket bushes in the back garden as I wanted the space for other things. It was a sad moment but, in truth, I needn’t have fretted because it found its way back onto the landscape without any help from me.

In fact, it is everywhere in the back garden and no doubt the seeds which found themselves in the front will create the same havoc there. I say ‘havoc’ because there are bushes in the back blocking the garden path, smothering the tomatoes and coming up all over the strawberry patch.


They have also been producing huge numbers of flowers, which are very tasty for me and a magnet for several types of bee. Much as I love bumblebees, I was particularly pleased to see other sorts as well the other day (when it was sunny – we now have rain).

However, I felt the flowers had to go. There is only so much rocket I can eat and giving it away doesn’t seem to be diminishing the volume either. It was sad to feel I was depriving the bees but I am pretty certain in the blink of an eye the rocket bushes will have flowered again.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The pros and cons of rocket

  1. andy1076 says:

    I was initially going whaaaa on rocket then I realized oh! it does look like one πŸ˜€

  2. suburbable says:

    I’m glad you wrote this, Helen. We have let our rocket self seed this year, but didn’t know it could be so prolific.

    It’s part of our 0 maintenance self sowing ground cover experiment, but I may have to pay closer scrutiny to the potential rocket seedlings.

    • Helen says:

      Zero maintenance self-seeding is a great idea but like everything it depends on who, what, where, when and how. If you are using it for ground cover, I think rocket is brilliant: it’s hardy both against the elements and being trodden on; it seems to distract the kind of insects that like to eat brassicas; and it attracts pollinators. It has deep roots which of course can be both a plus and a minus (ie I have to dig it rather than pull it out).

      Anyway, glad you found this post useful 😊

  3. Awesome update Helen thats reminded me i need to grow some as David loves it have a blessed day

  4. I love nature in all her glory. It’s amazing how some things take so much encouragement to grow, while others happily march across the garden, sending out leaves and flowers without a care in the world. Years ago I planted a clover-like ground cover with tiny pink flowers, and it now comes back year after year, all over the garden. I let it grow in some places, pull it out in others and in some cases simply prune it back. It wanders across the pathways, stays low to the ground, and produce tiny pink flowers the size of shirt button.

    I hope you enjoy your weekend ahead.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Alys. As I don’t work on Fridays and my daughter is still on her school holidays, my weekend has well and truly started 😊.

      Sounds like you have a very nice flower…. Have a good weekend, too!

      • Oh that’s lovely! We used to go back to school after the long labor day weekend in early September, but a lot of the schools are now starting in mid-August. My younger son went back to school August 17th, but his brother doesn’t return to college until September 19th. It’s quite a spread.

        • Helen says:

          Yes, that is a big spread. My daughter will return to school a week on Wednesday. I love her being on holiday – life is so much easier than juggling school as well, whereas now she comes with me, as my employer has a holiday club for the children of staff πŸ˜„.

          • Oh what a lovely idea to have a holiday club. I love that.

            I agree that the school year can be fraught with additional stress. My youngest only has two more years of school before starting college, so I’m trying to enjoy these moments, so award that they will soon come to an end.

          • Helen says:

            My daughter’s only got two more years at the holiday club, though at least she won’t be leaving home when she goes up to high school!

          • Is high school also four years where you live? I know it varies from place to place. My 16 year old son spent this summer and last volunteering as a day camp counselor. He had such a wonderful time and learned a lot of good leadership skills. It’s a nice bridge between camp for youngsters and not quite old enough to work.

          • Helen says:

            The camp your son did sounds a wonderful experience 😊.

            High school for my daughter will be five years. She’s already so mature…. We have been away over the last couple of days, staying in a youth hostel, and last night she played board games with the young staff/volunteers. Such a way to gain confidence and skills/knowledge!

          • I loved staying in youth hostels in England. They were among the best. Five years of high school…that’s interesting. I’m happy to hear she’s blossoming and growing into a wonderful young woman. For all the things I miss about the younger years, there are just as many wonderful things about the young adult years.

          • Helen says:

            Very true, Alys. Every age has it’s good points ☺️

  5. They are do prolific. I felt bad removing mine to, but they don’t take long to appear again. πŸ˜ƒ

  6. Pingback: URL

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

