The sunflower braves the elements 

It couldn’t have been a worse day for getting jobs done in the garden. However, the pressure of time meant they had to get done regardless. Especially as I had a bolting cauliflower to make use of as well as runner beans which had been sitting in the fridge for a few days (otherwise they would have gone all stringy).

The ingredients for the piccalilli are now in a pan with salt to draw out the excess moisture. I’ve also planted out a second purple sprouting broccoli, this time under cover, as the rocket might be a bit too far away to protect it. Oh, and sown more lettuce, since the succession planting didn’t quite work (ie all the seedlings withered and died).

The sunflower hasn’t opened fully yet but I felt it needed recording as my first ever which has got this far. It also added some colour on this rather cheerless day.


If I wasn’t so damp and chilly I’d say I was almost excited.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The sunflower braves the elements 

  1. andy1076 says:

    Yay sunflower! 😄

  2. streepie says:

    Chilly? Damp? We just had a heat wave…..

  3. Aren’t sunflowers the best! One of my fav summer flowers. Ah, I have some cauliflower also thinking about bolting .. Shameful!

  4. Helen, sorry to hear about the damp weather, but yeah on the sunflower.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

