First day of September (Garden looking lusher)

In my series of posts looking at the difference a month makes to the garden, I’m pleased that the main section is looking greener again, now that the poppies have all been removed. I actually think poppies have a negative impact on tomato plants, going on how the tomatoes in close proximity to the poppies seemed to be stunted by the latter.

Anyway, though you might not be able to see the tomato fruit forming on the vines, they are definitely there, and I am excited to see the crop that I end up with. There are also peppers forming – a bit late on the day but, when such happens, I always console myself with the fact that the plants are good compost heap fodder.

As for the herb garden, I realise I need to pick and dry the sage before it is too late. That is, however, looking bushier than a month ago. And we’ve been enjoying the borage flowers, even though you’ve got to be quick to get them. 

Happy September, everyone!

herb garden 1st August

herb garden 1st September

back garden 1st August

back garden 1st September

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to First day of September (Garden looking lusher)

  1. andy1076 says:

    Crazy how it’s September already eh? feels like summer was just yesterday :O

  2. The garden looks great Helen, hope you keep it filled throughout winter!

  3. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. Kalamain says:

    Looking good. A few of my plants are looking decidedly tired already. Not sure why. But with the nights fading a little and morning dews getting thicker I would have thought they would have gotten a lift out of it.
    Oh well. B-)

    • Helen says:

      Which plants are fading?

      • Kalamain says:

        Lupins, foxgloves and Alstromeria. Also my spirea has finished it’s flowering and just looks limp. I think it needs a clip back this year.
        And then there is my Eryngium and fennel that were suffering with the winds. Normally they would still be going but they have had a hard time of it this year. B-(

        • Helen says:

          Yes, the wind hasn’t done us any favours, has it!

          My lupins finished ages ago. In fact, I was disappointed by how short-lived they were.

          My fennel has turned to seed, which is what I want. I am sure it has behaved the same as last year but maybe I’m wrong.

  5. Kalamain says:

    Lupins, Alstromeria and foxgloves. Also my spirea has finished flowering and just looks limp. It may need a cop back this year.
    Also my Eryngium and Fennel have had a hard time of it with the winds and seem to be giving up. Oh well.

  6. It’s great fun comparing month over month during the growing season, eh? Everything looks healthy and lush.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it’s interesting to see the way the garden evolves. I’m surprised that the changes are so subtle – I’d been expecting much more noticeable differences. Maybe this will be the case next month?

  7. Your garden looks great! Happy Sept to you too ..

  8. Karen says:

    Happy September to you…I can’t believe summer is coming to an end.

  9. Happy September, Helen!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

