Autumn seedlings

For the first time in over a year, the slugs and snails seem to have been out with a vengeance recently. Before we went to Scarborough last weekend, I was really pleased to see carrots starting up between some kale. Great, I thought, an autumn crop on the way!

Alas, when I looked under the mini polytunnel this afternoon, the carrot tops looked more like grass. Whether they recover or not, remains to be seen, but I’ve put down organic slug pellets on the off chance they do.

echinacea and pak choi seedlings

I did the same with the pak choi I planted out today. The seedlings were more than ready to move onto a new home, though most of them have simply moved into new pots, dotted about the house.

Whilst I had been browsing the Kings Seed catalogue back in July, I had been inspired to try pak choi again, after a partial success in 2010. Then I had sown them in situ and a bit too late, as far as I remember, so no wonder they turned out to be very small under the fleece. Hopefully, this year will be a more promising experience.

Another inspired buy was echinacea. Only four of the seeds have germinated but I’ve got about half a packet left, which I will start off next year. Had I got them earlier this year, they would probably have been ready to plant out this autumn but I think the current seedlings will have to overwinter indoors.

I’m so excited about seeing them flower. They are definitely one of my new favourite flowers, after seeing them at Harlow Carr last year. I didn’t actually know what they were at the time but now not only do I have a name to a face but potentially a beautiful medicinal flower in the garden.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Autumn seedlings

  1. karen says:

    I grew all my carrots in pots in the poly tunnel this summer. Much better than in the open garden. Good luck with your seedlings. We tried wool pellets this year which were very successful. Also pine needles – the slugs don’t like the resin.

    • Helen says:

      I’m sure the slugs don’t like the resin 😉

      I’ve actually got quite a few pine needles looking for a purpose, so I will try out your method – thanks!

  2. Organic slug pellets .. I need some of those! Gosh we have Kings seeds here too! I have no luck with echinacea but pak choy grows like mad 😄

    • Helen says:

      Maybe I need to do a post on the organic slug pellets….. In the meantime, yes I can imagine your pak choi doing well after seeing photos of the other brassicas you have this winter 😃

    • Helen says:

      I like the fact that Kings Seeds do small packets of seeds – well, not for everything (hence the 15 kale seedlings etc) but I do think the quality is better as well.

  3. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

