Will there be goji berries?

The goji berry bushes I got from my dad at the end of last year were in leaf at Christmas, perhaps due to the unseasonally warm weather. Then they got hit by aphids.

That’s it, I thought. There’ll be no crop this year and no point in keeping them if they are going to present so much trouble for so little.

And now this has happened:


I’m so excited! Because they were in my bad books, I hadn’t even watered the plants but yet again nature has amazed me.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Will there be goji berries?

  1. Kalamain says:

    That seems to be on time. According to wikipedia…. Quote
    “In the Northern Hemisphere, flowering occurs from June through September and berry maturation from August to October, depending on the latitude, altitude, and climate.”

    That makes they really late in the year! Not sure if you will have to keep them fleeced or anything.

  2. andy1076 says:

    Looks like they heard your huffs and sighs 😄

  3. We have one too Helen! Will be great to compare notes..at the min we also have flowers..lots of them..we’ve had them for months, so excited to see what happens next! Watch this space!

  4. Malcolm says:

    Hi Helen. I have Good and had nothing in year 1 besides a couple of berries. Apparently there are different varieties that yield vastly different amounts of berries, but they are a tough, invasive plant that will do well.

    Good luck with yours!

  5. Nature is the best isn’t it! Yay ..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

