A day for mint cordial

I wish I could share the aroma in my kitchen right now instead of the ubiquitous photo of leaves steeping in water but the wonders of technology don’t extend that far.


I came across the idea of mint cordial a couple of weeks ago but time didn’t permit me to do anything about it then. Besides, with it still flowering I didn’t want to pinch the bees food. It stayed in my mind, however, not least because I have mint leaves galore.

Anyway, with the current mini heatwave (not sure if it’s officially called that), it seems appropriate to conjure up a beverage to fit the circumstances. So, the leaves are now waiting for the next step in the process on my hob.

Even if there are blizzards tomorrow, I look forward to my latest concoction. Cheers!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A day for mint cordial

  1. streepie says:

    Enjoy! Sadly, my mint is not in a state to be turned into cordial…

    • Helen says:

      How come?

      I might not feel the need for the cordial after the storm we’re in the middle of right now… Lightning every couple of seconds and thunder rumbling non-stop. Still, I love it 😃

  2. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen will have to try this one

    • Helen says:

      I forgot the bottles in the pan while I was sterilising them (once full – I adapted the recipe with citric acid so the cordial will keep longer), so after being thoroughly boiled, I hope the taste hasn’t been badly affected.

  3. Mmmm, may try this, thanks Helen!

  4. Tina says:

    What a great idea. There are so many varieties of mint to experi-mint with. I’ve got some pineapple mint (Apple mint with variegated leaves), I wonder how that compares with regular mint.

  5. Blizzards? Hope not! Mint cordial .. Sounds delish!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

