Questions for Wednesday

Hunting down a carpet cleaner this afternoon was a bit stressful. However, there was antidote by way of clearing away the latest batch of phacelia from the front garden.

This definitely work. Besides, when next I set to deadheading the marigolds – until I decided the plants should come out instead – this is what I found:


Cowslips in September?

Less delightful but still intriguing was seeing this:


Last time I looked at the one remaining cucumber it was very small and fat. It was, however, a cucumber that one could eat. Whatever has eaten it, though, clearly didn’t like the skin. I wonder if slugs burp?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Questions for Wednesday

  1. andy1076 says:

    That’s likely a slug still taking a nap after eating that much huh!

  2. Kalamain says:

    Cowslips? You mean Primulas? Yes, they can flower in late summer/early autumn. Its not a full flower but it does happen.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I guess the fact that they are flowering now means they must be primulas…. I had tried to determine for sure but couldn’t find a definitive answer before.

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Lovely post, great to find a pla

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Great to find a plant in its second bloom !

  5. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  6. Shame on that slug .. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  7. I wonder if slugs burp! You are hilarious.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

