Pruning the lavender

When we went to Yorkshire Lavender at the end of last month, there was a sign


which gave advice which I thought I might heed.

It seemed unlikely that the three lavender seedlings in the herb garden would really need cutting back, but as so often happens in the garden, they had almost overnight started to grow sideways.


Still, there was very little I felt needed to be pruned. No point in removing the absolutely new growth which has just appeared.

I’m so pleased, though, that the plants are thriving. One of my friends got the cuttings today and who knows what I will do in the future.

What’s your favourite way of using lavender?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in herbs, presents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Pruning the lavender

  1. Kalamain says:

    Personally I simply take my clippings and turn them upside down and tie them in my outside to keep the smell of cat poop down. B-)

    TMI? B-D

  2. Love that sign – and well done for remembering the exact day to do it! I bring my lavender into the house and leave it in vases until the flowers all drop off and make a mess.

  3. I love the smell of lavender. We had three plants growing along our deck, but eventually removed them for something more drought tolerant. The bees loved it. I like lavender sachets and I’m also a new fan of lavender Kombucha.

    I’m happy to hear that your plants are doing well.

    • Helen says:

      The fact that lavender didn’t like your drought conditions shows how dry it must be! Shame you haven’t got them anymore but have you got something else aromatic in their place?

      I’ve not tried kombucha but one day I will and then I can make some with lavender if I like it.

  4. Lovely update i pruned my lavender last week and brought into the living room have a blessed day Helen

  5. streepie says:

    The French love their lavender – and in addition to use it to make your house smell nice or to keep moths and other bugs out of cupboard (and your clothes), you can also use it in cooking
    – add dried flowers to sugar to make lavender sugar
    – add flowers as a flavouring element to créme brulée
    – when cooking with peaches (compote, cake, tarte) add some lavender flowers – they complement the flavour of peaches very well (but not too much, as they might become overpowering)
    btw – rosemary goes very well with apricots 😉

    Enjoy your lavender!
    Cornelia

  6. Tina says:

    I love lavender. So far, I haven’t done anything with it except touch the foliage in the garden, and smell my hands, and watch the bees visit. I really do want to start doing something like make lavender sugar or dry the stems, to make little bags of lavender for the family.

  7. I have rosemary growing next to the lavender and it’s sometimes nice to put them together into a vase.

  8. I use lavender oil when I clean my chook house with warm soapy water .. Mites aren’t enamoured with it!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

