Freezing flowers

On a whim I borrowed The Herb Garden for Cooks by Jeff Cox and Marie-Pierre Moine from the library the other day and then flicking through it I had a minor light bulb moment.

Now, I have tried freezing herbs before and to be honest they either didn’t get eaten before the new crop was available or I was plain underwhelmed. But the idea of preserving borage flowers was too appealing to overlook.


Actually, I decided to freeze some nasturtium flowers/seeds as well. So, after a wash they went in a tub with water 

and into the freezer until one winter’s day the greyness demands some colour. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in herbs, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Freezing flowers

  1. lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed weekend

  2. I have never thought about freezing flowers before… 😃

  3. great idea! what do you think you will use them for?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

