Making space

Originally, I’d intended to have a rather large rocket bush out the ground in time for tomato planting. But then the ground became far too dry and hard and I decided not to bother.

In spite of being repeatedly cut back, I was getting the feeling of being overwhelmed. No doubt, the nearby tomato plants were as well. So, in view of the autumnal risks by way of botrytis and other scaries, the rocket needed to come out, so that the tomatoes would have as much ventilation as possible.


Now, instead of rocket, I’ve sown phacelia as ground cover till I plant either garlic or onions. Hopefully, this won’t grow so quickly as to overrun the tomatoes in its turn!


I also picked lots of chard to be blanched and frozen. In fact, I pulled quite a bit up by the roots, made much easier now the soil is moist again. It too had been crowding out tomato plants and had to go.

Close planting might work for some things – and I would say production has increased in my garden because of such – but tomato plants are a different beast, I think.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Making space

  1. andy1076 says:

    Why does plants vs zombies with a side of a human ally come to mind lol 🙂 sounds like quite a battle there!

  2. Tomatoes don’t take up much root space, but they sure do grow into large shrubs, don’t they? Ours haven’t produced as well this year. The plants are healthy and robust, and we have had fruit, but just not the amply crop I would have expected. May you have great success with yours. I’m happy to hear you had some rain. How I long for a good storm. It hasn’t rained here in over four months now. I’m ready.

    • Helen says:

      You must be ready for some rain, Alys. After a month of no rain, I get twitchy!

      I had some brilliant tomato plants for a few years (all from one packet) and now wish I had noted down the name/company, as none of the seeds/plants since have been half so prolific. I’ve got about another month to six weeks before the tomato plants need to come out the ground, so hopefully the many little tomatoes I can now see will grow nice and big in that time.

      • I am SO ready for rain, Helen. Even though we’re a few days into autumn by the calendar, it’s insufferably hot. It may reach 100F in some parts of the area today. We’re breaking records. Dry conditions sparked another forest fire yesterday. It’s miserable. We’re actually in a “heat advisory”.

        What a shame about the tomato seeds. I had some volunteer cosmos one year that grew as tall as me. No one could believe it. I had just two plants, and they produced cutting flowers all summer long. I gave away a lot of the seeds at Christmas and friends that planted them also had great success. But, nothing in my garden like that since. I hope you get lots of delicious red orbs.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

