The sheep on the right

At last, the long-awaited day of foraging with a similar-minded friend arrived today. We went to three different spots in all and I collected 2.5 kg of rosehips, a kilo of blackberries and a bag of nettles.

I’ve already started on a batch of rosehip and chilli jelly, realising that the one I made at the end of August was simply not enough. With the blackberries I intend to make jam and the nettles will become soup.

While we were in the Wakefield area, we came across a field of sheep, one of which came up and clearly wanted to be stroked. Have you ever heard of such a thing? Well, I certainly hadn’t.


Anyway, the sheep on the right is the one that duly got the desired attention before wandering off once more. But cute or what?

Just round the corner from my house, we finished off the day with a walk in land reclaimed with the closure of the local coal mine in the 1980s. Honestly, we needn’t have gone anywhere else but I do hope to go back very soon as on top of rosehips and rosehips and rosehips as well as the ubiquitous blackberries, there were apple trees, too.


I didn’t pick any today, though, as I’ve still got plenty from the LPN social a couple of weeks ago. As well as my own, which my friend reckons are ready now.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in foraging, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The sheep on the right

  1. Wow, that’s quite a hoard! Will you also make rosehip syrup?

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen and have a blessed day

  3. Kalamain says:

    Our sheep are very demanding in the stroking department! (Wow that sounds rude >.>)

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

