Definitely autumn

The other day I posted about the summer vegetables in the garden. They are still there – and so are some autumn delights.

The Jerusalem artichokes have decided to flower again this year (missed a year last time round)


and the ripe crab apples looked equally resplendent on their tree.


The former may have reduced the crop, although with so many stems this year I think I will still have plenty to eat. As for the latter, I was sad to pick them but I also wanted to try out Spiced Crab Apples, which I think will add nicely to the Christmas table.

With the dreary weather today, thinking of Christmas brought some cheer. Especially as this is the first time I have made something from the garden with this in mind!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Definitely autumn

  1. andy1076 says:

    It’s weird on our end here in the west coast, it’s waaaaay to warm and things are almost still in summer :O

    • Helen says:

      The weather changes every day here in Britain – it’s going to be better tomorrow, more like summer again. I kinda like it wintery, though, so I’m happy either way. And I like the constant changes.

      Long may the summery weather last for you ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. It is always nice thinking of thing s you can make for Christmas and it warming thoughts lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. I’m glad you are enjoying thoughts of Christmas. Spiced cider sounds wonderful.

  4. jeffpermie says:

    I usually chop my Artchokes down before flowering (maybe a month or so) just so they don’t sway too much in the wind, (down to maybe 4-5 feet high) they still end up flowering but this year I left them and they are easily over 15 feet tall !
    Those heavy winds we had South East a week or so ago gave them some practice yet luckily they are mostly still standing.

  5. Helen says:

    Amazing that they flowered even after being cut down! Mine have managed to withstand the strong winds over the last few days ๐Ÿ˜Š

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

