Hauls of various sorts

Sunday 2nd October we were apple juicing at Old Sleningford Farm. It’s quite hard work but there is a great team spirit.

Rachel, who runs the farm, was very generous in paying us in kind for the work, so my daughter and I came home with three bottles of fresh apple juice, two of which I’ve pasteurised for future consumption. We also drank plenty for lunch, and inbetween!


As if this wasn’t enough, there were also a number of vegetables on offer. No one wanted the cucumbers apart from me, so I brought home the lot, as well as a yellow courgette. I suspect it might actually be a marrow but maybe later on today I’ll be brave enough to find out.

As if this wasn’t enough work and enough produce, I decided that the fennel seeds in my own back garden needed to come in. I reckon in all they weigh about half a kilo, so they should last me in tea for a good while. Just as importantly, I had only one bag of them last year, so double that now, which makes me wonder if each year there will be some kind of incremental growth or is that’s maximum capacity.


Well, whilst I ponder on that, off I go to make a big pot of tzatziki. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, herbs, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hauls of various sorts

  1. Kalamain says:

    Ok… I had to go google just what “tzatziki” was… (Not to mention, how to pronounce it!)

    On the fennel seeds… Do you pull the plant up or is it regrowing each year? It could be that you are simply getting better yield because the plant is getting stronger?
    I wonder if you will plateau or if the plant will selfseed/send out an offshoot and you will get a clump?

    • Helen says:

      Tzatziki is delicious 😊

      As for the fennel (herb), it is perennial, so it is probably getting stronger at the roots each year. I do cut it down as the stems die anyway. Then it grows back each spring.

      • Kalamain says:

        Yeah… I’m guessing Tzatziki is a greek version of a riata?

        http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/cucumberandmintraita_67787

        Yeah. You have the same fennel as I do. Over the past few years its gradually spreading a little. I’m guessing the root structure is growing rather than spreading by rhizome.

        • Helen says:

          Yes, I think the root ball is growing rather than spreading by rhizome. I’ve not seen evidence of it coming up like mint. It does self-seed as well.

          Tzatziki is indeed a Greek dish, a bit like raita but more garlicky and less minty. It’s also supposed to be thicker (in my experience), so I’m working on getting the consistency right at the moment.

  2. streepie says:

    And I always thought that courgette was another word for baby marrow 😉
    You could also pickle your cucumbers to make dill pickles with them.
    Have fun with your haul!

    • Helen says:

      Great idea to pickle the cucumbers. I love pickled cucumber 😊

      Yes, I think courgettes are baby married but fortunately this is still more like a courgette.

  3. I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t take the cucumbers. Homegrown cucumbers are so tasty, compared to supermarket ones! How did you pasteurise the apple juice?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

