The last of the blackberries

After the blackberry coulis instead of jam incident the other week I was determined to have another go before it was too late for 2016. So, after school on Monday I took my daughter foraging in the country park behind our house.


It was a bit of a challenge to find enough berries but we did it. Or rather I did it, as my daughter was more interested in getting home to the iPad, but it was good to have her company while I scrambled through the undergrowth to get at the last of the blackberries. Besides, at the end of the month, when we go back to GMT, it will be too dark to enjoy any evening sunshine outdoors.

Suffice to say, the blackberry and apple jam I made worked this time. It helped that the recipe I chose on this occasion said only to cover the fruit rather than giving numbers which could be misread! I didn’t use any of the apples I had collected along with the blackberries, though, instead favouring the ones which had fallen from my own tree and got nibbled by enthusiastic slugs.


As if this wasn’t enough joy in the kitchen, I tried out pickled cucumber, adapting the recipe slightly by adding a bay leaf, coriander and mustard seeds. Now, I’ve got to wait three months to eat these. Oh, and find space in my burgeoning cupboard to store my latest batch of preserves. Better not wait three months to do that, though.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in foraging, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The last of the blackberries

  1. andy1076 says:

    Ya, kids these days and teens are only interested in going back to screen time, That much is so true, Glad you encourage the outdoor planting idea ☺️

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  3. How wonderful that you can forage for berries in your own “back yard” so to speak. They look delicious.

    Darn that time change. We switch over in early November 6th. I wish we could abandon that time change once and for all.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I think it would be great to be on British Summer Time all year. I’d rather have dark mornings than dark evenings.

      How does the time change after you? Is it across all states?

      And yes, it’s fab have so much free food almost in my back yard!!!

      • A few states have opted out of the time change so we have to factor that in as well. And because this country is so big, our states cross several time zones. The east coast is always three hours ahead of the west coast, and Hawaii is three hours earlier than California. Crazy, eh? We aren’t as far north as you, so our days are currently light around 7 am with the sun setting around 6:45 pm.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

