Big leaves and appropriate flowers

Today, I pulled another couple of tomato plants. Now, only the ones in pots remain. Whether or not the pots have anything to do with it, all the rest seemed to be on the road to blight, and the tomato crop is meagre enough without losing the lot in the next few days.

Thankfully, I’ve got so many jars of rose hip and chilli jelly, I don’t think I’m in need of green tomato chutney to see me through the winter months. Change is good.

And the garden is doing so well in other ways.


Every day I come home to the sight of these wonderful nasturtium leaves. They are not particularly peppery, though, or perhaps it’s just the tzakziki I’m still ploughing through after making an extravagant amount on Monday!


As for the cauliflower, I am overwhelmed by the fact that it hasn’t bolted. Still, it could be a different story by next week, so I’m not getting excited about cauliflower cheese just yet. Or maybe I should make aloo gobi?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Big leaves and appropriate flowers

  1. streepie says:

    We’ll also have to pull out our tomatoes rather sooner than later, as they are also showing the first signs of blight.

    I doubt that you cauliflower will bolt now – they usually do that when it’s hot and dry. But you never know πŸ˜‰

    • Helen says:

      Yes, you never know…. last winter the cauliflowers bolted but then I also put them in the ground later than this year.

      Sorry to hear about your tomatoes, anyway. I hope you got a decent crop.

  2. Kalamain says:

    Looking good!

    Most of the Nasturtium around here has started to turn. Glad to see yours is still doing well.

    • Helen says:

      I think the front is generally quite sheltered because it is north-facing, although that does of course mean less direct sunlight. Out the back, the nasturtiums aren’t doing quite so well this year but that could be to do with more competition as well from the self-seeded chard.

  3. I grew cauliflower once, but without much success. Yours is looking promising, Helen. We have yet another heat wave rolling in so I’m not giving up on my tomatoes yet, but though green, I suspect production is over.

  4. Blessing in sharing Helen your garden is looking good

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

