Senshu onions

Having taken out the tomato plants which seemed to have been affected by blight the other day, there was now space for the compost bin to move and half the Senshu onions to go in.


After the success of the onions I planted in January, some of which got forgotten and are now growing again, I was keen to have more in the ground this winter. My local farm has not offered so much in the way of vegetables this year, so I am glad to have had plenty of my own to make up for this shortfall.

As for the compost, it was dry in the middle, so decomposition had been arrested. The dryness was down to the depth of material in the bin, so in future I need to add water as I add material. This might not totally deal with the issue but hopefully it will speed up the rotting process.

Apart from the tomato plants, black radish had been growing in the place where I wanted the bin, so they were pulled up this morning. I’d expected them all to be duff but as it turns out there were two rounded roots, so yet again there has been a lesson learned: thin out the black radishes!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Senshu onions

  1. What a lovely post Helen when your home and it raining leave the lid of your compost bin or if weather folk say during the evening new and yes you should damp it down in between adding your mixture

  2. andy1076 says:

    Almost like you are having a mini battle with all of them wanting their space, while you referee heh 😉

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Nice one Helen, I pulled up my black radishes before I left Ireland two weeks ago, and there was nothing there, just the smallest little bulb.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

