Experiments with red cabbage and garlic bulbils

Only one red cabbage has grown to any significance this year. No idea why but thankfully I got to it before it was completely obliterated by these snails:


Now, half the cabbage is in the process of being made into kimchi, or Korean pickled cabbage. The recipe calls for napa cabbage, which I didn’t have and I exchanged chives for onions, but it is hopefully still going to taste divine when it comes out of the airtight container in my wardrobe.

An experiment of a different kind comes in the form of the garlic bulbils which I collected last summer when the garlic bolted. The seeds were put in the ground last winter and then taken up in June. As the seed had formed small bulbs, there seems to be no reason why these bulbs won’t grow into full-blown garlic next year. Still, there is no way of knowing, so I could be without my stock of garlic come next summer.

Bulbils laid out ready for planting

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Experiments with red cabbage and garlic bulbils

  1. andy1076 says:

    Damn, I can see a caterpillar turning into a butterfly wanting to eat but snails and that many? geez..!

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have blessed day

  3. Kalamain says:

    Good luck with that. Garlic tends to be quite easy to grow. I got some to come up. If I can do you should have no problems!

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Seems you have some little helpers there Helen, I mean helping to eat!
    All looking good!

  5. Darn those snails! I’m glad you could rescue some of the plants for your own meals. I love the look of fresh turned soil. It’s full of so much promise.

  6. Lavinia Ross says:

    We don’t see many snails here, but sure do get a lot of slugs!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

