Eggs for chard

Yes, I have been in the garden this week and things have been happening. For example, the onions I planted last week have started to take root.

And how do I know? Well, I guess birds must have got under the netting. Unless onions just spontaneously pop out of the soil. In any case, I hope that roots means leaves soon, so that they make it through the winter.

My greatest activity, however, has been picking a bunch of chard for another member of Leeds Permaculture Network committee. What I hadn’t expected in return was half a dozen eggs.


Definitely not to be sniffed at! And once again this autumn I feel as though my gardening efforts have really been worthwhile.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Eggs for chard

  1. andy1076 says:

    There’s a gray egg? O.o

  2. What an excellent trade off!

  3. patsquared2 says:

    The odd egg looks like it is from an Araucana or Americana chicken, sometimes called the Easter egg chicken. My friend has a real mixed flock so when you get eggs from her farm, they are a rainbow of colors including black! Don’t you just love bartering from your garden?

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for the feedback on where the unusual egg colour may have come from.

      I was going to say bartering in my post but isn’t that intentional?

      • patsquared2 says:

        I guess bartering can be intentional…maybe swapping is a better word but whatever you call it, I love being able to share what I grow with someone who wants to share what they grow or raise. And eggs are absolute gold! I love making frittata with carmelized onions, lightly grilled mushroom slices, ribbons of swiss chard and dollops of ricotta cheese baked on top. Yummy and healthy!

  4. What a great swap! I love the idea of exchanging, rather than using money.

    • Helen says:

      I totally agree with you, Kathryn. The chard was self-seeded, so the whole exchange was even better…. If only more of life could be like this. Off to Leeds Clothing Exchange again today, though – with one of my sewing bee, so the word is getting round 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

