The rise and fall of the leaf

First, the current success:


The lettuce are doing well at the moment. As with the onions, I have been deliberating over the necessity of a cloche. In a few nights the night time temperatures are expected to drop to three degrees Celsius but at ten degrees tonight I think I’ll deliberate a bit longer.

I’m also toying with the idea of moving the compost bin as I think it might have attracted a resident that I’m not comfortable with in the garden. Still, I will continue to monitor the situation as there is nowhere to move it to right now and I feel the need to rest my bones a bit.

Not that the need to rest stopped me from chopping down the Jerusalem artichokes this afternoon. The flowers had mostly finished and the stems were very much dead.

The hosta is also about to disappear for the winter


and the blackberry bush is in its autumn glory.


Even though I’ve decided it has to come out, I’m glad I left the bush so that I could enjoy the leaves. Some leaves on the strawberry plants are the same colour and it seems the leaves on the deciduous trees in the garden are also starting to take on an autumn hue.

There are lots of buds on the apple tree, so I am now curious to see whether these will become branches or fruit. I did read somewhere about the different type of buds but I can’t remember now.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The rise and fall of the leaf

  1. Kalamain says:

    My Hostas are at the same stage.

    Nice to see your strawbs looking good. Mine didn’t last spring. But then mine were in a vertical garden and I forgot about them…. Oopsie. B-)

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen my strawberry’s fail even my new crows i have got do not seem to be growing have a blessed day

    • Helen says:

      It could be the variety, Linda. The first strawberries I got (RHS) produce very few fruit, although they are still flowering now. They also produce few runners.

      On the other hand, the strawberries I got two years ago from Old Sleningford Farm are magnificent. If only I could give you a runner or two to try out.

  3. Karen says:

    Your lettuce looks very happy growing in the container…nice that you can bring it in if it gets too cold for one night.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

