First of November (garden opening up)

As with the previous monthly comparison, I am surprised that at the beginning of November the garden is still looking so green and full. That said, there is less height now that the majority of the Jerusalem artichoke stems have been cut down (I left one because it was still in full bloom, although these flowers have faded over the last few days.)

Garden on 1st November as it was getting dark


Garden on 1st October

There is also more space because of the tomato plants coming out and the rhubarb all but gone for the winter. But what about the herb garden?

Herb garden 1st November


Herb garden 1st October

Well, if anything, the herb garden is looking even greener because self-seeded phacelia has appeared since last month’s photo. It is also starting to appear elsewhere, on the garlic hugel bed for example. It’s good to have some cover there but it will have to come out before it interfers with the garlic.

As for next month, I guess it depends if we have some frost between now and then. I imagine the sunflowers will be over soon, though. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to First of November (garden opening up)

  1. andy1076 says:

    nooooooo not the rhubarb! that can’t go! 😱😱

  2. Kalamain says:

    Looking good!

    According to the news we are in for a cold winter
    http://www.express.co.uk/news/weather/714262/UK-snow-long-range-weather-forecast-cold-winter-2016-Britain-freeze

    Take it with a pinch of salt though… But I’ll be glad to see us get into negatives for a bit.

  3. Oh, winter is here and I am longing for spring already. I will be adding yet another plot for my new and exciting medicinal herb garden, and I am already eager to start planting! Love the uniqueness of your garden layout!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I hadn’t thought of my garden as unique…

      Anyway, thank you for reading and commenting 😊 Good luck with your herb garden. I’m eager too to get started on next year’s planting. Better get my seed order sorted and in the post.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

