Patterns and posts

This year more than any other, I’ve noticed a pattern in the theme of posts throughout the year. First there were the strawberries, then the poppies, and now there are the leaves.


Earlier in the week, there were loads of leaves on the road where I parked my car. I would have been loathe to collect them from a place where at least in theory they might decompose and add nutrient to the soil. However, so thick beside the curb that many cars hadn’t even tried to park up to it, I decided I’d help out by taking a bag home. So, the compost bin is once more full, after only being filled to the brim with Jerusalem artichoke stalks and leaves last weekend.

Aside from fiddling about with the compost bin, with the last of the dead rhubarb leaves going in it, it was time to fertilise the plant itself for next year. Having learned that rhubarb prefers soil on the slightly acidic side, I chopped up some small pine tree branches and placed them on top of the rhubarb crown.


As this part of the world is not renowned for being wind free, I stabilised the mound with compost, which will add to the nutrient mix as the pine needles decompose. The branches will no doubt take a while longer but that is all to the good. As long as the rhubarb can grow through next spring.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Patterns and posts

  1. awesome update have a blessed day Helen

  2. Kalamain says:

    It will be the snowpocalypse next… Mark my words! B-)

    The pine bowers should be fine, just remember that you may need to move them a little come spring.

  3. Karen says:

    I’m sure your rhubarb plant will appreciate the extra care.

  4. It’s like tucking someone into bed for the night. Cozy!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

