The antidote to paws in soil

I’d noticed what seemed to be paw prints in the soil but dismissed it as my foot when I’d accidentally trodden on the ground. But then I noticed the same where I knew I had definitely not put my feet.

Added to this observation, the other night a black cat came running across the garden and deposited itself behind some chard near the compost bin. I don’t think it was interested in either the Jerusalem artichoke stalks or leaves that have recently gone in.

Hmm! 


However, today was not one for dwelling on home front issues, as we took our monthly trip up to Old Sleningford Farm for the workday.

It was a tad on the cold side. Actually, it was freezing but just the day for peeling and slicing apples, a job which could be done inside. We did some work outside, clearing the raised beds, as well though, the upshot of which I have come home with some evening primrose seeds to sow in the front garden.


If you add the good company and apple juice and beetroot, it was definitely a trip worth making.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The antidote to paws in soil

  1. Kalamain says:

    Will you just scatter the seeds?
    There is an Evening Primrose plant not far from here that had a few pods the last time I checked. I may pick a couple if they will germinate easy enough (Even with my seed skills!)

  2. jeffpermie says:

    Hi Helen, not sure if you are in the UK am I right? Anyway, just spreading the message / word that two very great books (I already own them) are being heavily discounted on the Green Shopping website – If permaculture / organic gardening / wildlife gardening is of an interest, take a look I highly reccommend both books and this is an offer not to be missed sadly I cant take advantage of it šŸ˜¦
    https://growingarden.wordpress.com/2016/11/06/sepp-holzers-books-special-offer/

  3. Blessing in sharing have a blessed day Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

