Extolling the virtues of an airing cupboard

My sister recently suggested I could get a combi-boiler and do away with the tanks in the loft. Sounds great – I could even get a room or two up there.

But hang on a minute, what about the airing cupboard? Yes, combi boilers might be cheaper to run but you get so much more for your money with an airing cupboard. 


In my case, not only do I find it useful for those days when you just need a warm towel or had to bring the washing in early, it is a superb place for drying herbs and seeds. And now I’m going to see if it is equally kind to the bokashi bin.

The bin works when it is warm and now it ain’t. I could have the heating on all day but I see a few ethical difficulties with that one. And a financial one, too! So, let’s see if being next to a warm water tank does it some good.

This might turn out to be today’s sum total of anything constructive to do with my garden, as I have discovered a illuminating, albeit scary, film: Leonardo Di Caprio’s Before the Flood. I would urge you to watch it, too.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Extolling the virtues of an airing cupboard

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing

  2. I saw the movie too, terrifying! But a must-see.

  3. I’ve been hearing about that film. I’m glad to see you recommend it.

    I’m not sure what you mean about the loft and getting a room or two up there. Is this a space above your home that could actually be converted into rooms? Or perhaps I’m misreading it.

    It all sounds interesting though. Good luck with your experiment.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, the loft is otherwise known as the roof void, a space between the top floor ceiling and the roof. Do you have such a space for storage in your houses?

      They are great for storage and I’m not really thinking of any major extension work. It’s nice to talk, though 😀.

      • We have a space called an attic, but that can vary considerably from house to house. In some places, the attic is high enough that you can walk up there and some people convert it to additional living space. Our attic is more of a crawl space than anything else, a place for insulation, duct work for the furnace and the occasional rat!

        • Helen says:

          We also use attic here – I always thought that meant roof space which had been converted but it seems attic and loft are the same thing.

          I need some proper steps so that I can get in and out of mine. I’ve put furniture in which I now can’t get out….

          • Oh that’s stressful. How did you get the furniture up there?

            Sometimes people here refer to a loft as an area upstairs, but without windows or doors. In New York it’s a fancy way to describe an apartment. I guess it originates from “aloft” meaning up in the air or overhead. I just looked up “attic” and it’s synonyms are “loft” and “garret” 🙂

          • Helen says:

            The furniture can be dismantled, so it would be easy enough to get out of the loft if I hadn’t pushed it too far away from the opening.

            Anyway, I have heard the term ‘garret’… ‘Aloft’ seems a plausible explanation for the term ‘loft’.

          • We have a bar/club/restaurant here called The Garret. It was originally built over the top of a shopping center. They moved several years ago to a ground floor space. I’m sure that detail is lost on most, though.

            Perhaps you can find a friend or neighbor with really longs arms to help you retrieve the furniture, or borrow a shepherd’s hook and reel it out. 🙂

          • Helen says:

            A shepherd’s hook sounds a useful tool!

            And I guess many people wouldn’t know what ‘garret’ means.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

