Sunflower seeds

When I worked in Greece, the classroom floor was perpetually covered in sunflower seed casings that the children had discarded after eating the salted seeds within. I never did quite get the hang of cracking the casings with my teeth but I do love sunflowers seeds.


This year, I had been curious to see if I could grow my own sunflower seeds. And indeed that black mark on the kitchen table next to a dried sunflower head is a seed. I think it is the only one, though.

Not sure what happened there – i.e. if the birds have eaten them, they’ve already found a home in the herb garden for next year or something else. In any case, the dried heads are so pretty in themselves, they might be added to the Christmas garland we make this year.

Have you any flowers you are drying?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunflower seeds

  1. gaiainaction says:

    A very nice thought Helen, to use this sunflower seed head in your Christmas garland. When I tried to grow sunflowers in Ireland, there was never enough sun to ripen them properly, well that is my excuse, other people have succeeded even in Ireland.

    • Helen says:

      The climate could well be a factor, Agnes.

      Anyway, how are things in Gozo? No doubt warmer than here. I’ve woken up to frost this morning, though I have to say that it came as a bit of a surprise.

      • gaiainaction says:

        Still warm here on Gozo Helen, and enjoying to the full. It is hard to think of cold and frost when you are far away from it 🙂 but I love to see the photos of snow and frost in nature.

        • Helen says:

          Yes, frost does look so beautiful.

          The sun is up, so it is a picturesque morning – and hopefully the sun will defrost my car windscreen for me 😉.

  2. Kalamain says:

    The birds would get to any Sunflower seeds WAY before I could. B-)
    Other than a couple of handfuls of lavender I’m not drying anything other than the standard Rosemary branches I bring in to use in the kitchen.

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  4. Lavinia Ross says:

    I did not plant sunflowers this year. One came up on its own, but I let the birds have it, as I usually do.

  5. Birds ate them for sure. You have reminded me I need to plant some 😃

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

