First day of the month update 

Well, it’s December and I have done virtually nothing in the garden for at least a month. That’s not to say that nothing has been happening.

For one thing, the frost has melted the nasturtiums. Or that’s the nearest approximation I can find to describe the effect. I’m leaving them in situ, at least for the moment, though, so that they protect the soil and shed their seeds in the hope that there are more plants next year.

Both the crab apple and apple tree have all but lost their leaves. One minute the leaves were green and then they were falling. They did turn yellow but unlike many of the other trees round and about, there seems to have been a very short period between green and falling yellow.

Anyway, the garlic is still not through. Perhaps it is my imagination that this is taking longer than usual, but I also wonder if it is the effect of the hugel bed, so newly made, which is starving them of nitrogen. So coffee grounds are being sprinkled on the top of it to try and mitigating any loss.


The garden certainly looked much fuller at the start of November in comparison with a month later. This is mostly due to chard and rocket being removed or cut down and not growing back.



Encroaching winter has also had its effect on the herb garden, with the borage and pumpkin looking decidedly limp now. On the other hand, I’m surprised that the phacelia is not only robust but seemingly still growing!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First day of the month update 

  1. Kalamain says:

    My apple is still holding to the leaves… They have turned a weird colour but it’s still going!

    Some of your herbs may be OK because its not been so cold yet. Although I’m surprised your pumpkin held on so long. My squash were done about two months ago!

    • Helen says:

      I guess different trees have different leaf fall times just as they are in different pollination groups. The herb garden is in a sheltered spot (purposely so) – the lavender was still flowering until recently and the bay tree is of course perennial anyway. Reminds me, I need to pick some more leaves…..

  2. gaiainaction says:

    Hi Helen, your garden is looking very much alive! I’m surprised at how much you still have in there, and flowering too.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’ve been amazed. Maybe it’s always this way, just that I’ve never documented such before and therefore somehow not noticed! (I felt sorry for the nasturtiums, flowers all shrivelled because of the frost.)

  3. Fall seemed late this year, and here we are almost to winter with temps still relatively mild. Our trees are holding on to beautiful yellow this month. I love that shade.

    It’s a busy time of year, isn’t it? I hope you get some garden time on your holiday break.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

