Christmas continued


Sometimes life seems a struggle but something good comes along to make it that bit better. In the case, the willow I took to the Leeds Permaculture Network social on Wednesday evening went down a treat. Then at the end of the evening, the remaining branches were happily taken away by an enthusiastic basket-weaver.

Both my daughter and I made wreaths – now we need to decide which one to hang on our front door – and while she made a willow star, I branched out into making a mouse, which will cause me no concern whatsoever.

Talking of mice, I think the cat must have got the one in my back garden. That, or it has given up waiting for the mouse to come out from the wood pile.

On the other hand, it seems that my waiting for the garlic bulbils to sprout is over. At least two are coming through the soil, so it looks like I could have garlic next year after all. I am going to load the the latest batch of coffee grounds onto the hugel bed, all the same, though.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas continued

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. What a charming little mouse. Nicely crafted, Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

