Marigold really?

I’d been looking at the front garden for a long time, aware that it needed some sorting out. The frost and low temperatures (occasional) had left the borage in a sorry state and there were weeds aplenty.

As it turned out, not only did I cut out the dead borage branches – leaving the green ones as they still had flowers on them – and remove lots of weeding, but I pulled up a fair amount of clover. This I had sown in the summer of 2015 as ground cover, while I worked out what I wanted to plant of a more permanent nature.

I still haven’t actually decided what to plant in its stead but I wanted it out before it became unmanageable. So, now that area is covered in cardboard to keep the weeds off over the winter.

As already mentioned, the borage is still in flower. However, that is not the only plant with any blooms. In tidying up the marigolds which were mostly dead, I noticed I had cut off a flower which was about to open.


Now, haven’t I just mentioned that we have had some frost and low temperatures? Notwithstanding, the marigolds are growing new shoots and leaves as well as, apparently, flowers. In addition, the snowdrops seem to be poking above ground. Not sure they should be doing that in early December, but watch this space!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Marigold really?

  1. Awesome and blessing thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Kalamain says:

    It’s another weird winter…
    I have zero clue what is going on. I just hope we don’t get caught out in mid-January with something bad. >.>

    Not had any spring bulbs pushing up yet though. Only the Muscari that push up their greenery in late Autumn and flower in spring.

  3. SallyAnn says:

    Having just moved to a new garden I have been itching to sew a few marigold seeds on the kitchen windowsill… I know its a little early and it might be wishful thinking, but I might just get away with it, especially now I have read yours are still blooming. Thanks for sharing Helen, you give me hope lol 🙂

  4. We’ve just had a frost here which is unusual for San Jose. It looks cold there, Helen. Good job getting so much work done on these frosty days.

    • Helen says:

      Undoubtedly, it is colder here than in San Jose but we are having another warmer than usual winter. Thankfully without the rain of last year.

      I guess having a frost in San Jose is a good thing?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

