Afternoon daylight

For the first time in a while, I managed to get home before it got dark. After a delightful Christmas carol service at my daughter’s school, I noticed that the last leaf had fallen off the apple tree. So, I popped out to have a quick look at the tree in the gloom and discovered it was not all dark and dreary!


It looks like the front garden isn’t the only place to grow flowers at this time of the year… and I don’t feel so bad about accidentally chopping off the marigold flower the other day now.

That said, to be honest, I’m not fond of the smell of marigolds, so I’m thinking of having them out next year. The oil might be good for my skin but I haven’t tried to extract it, so that is one thing I might continue to purchase rather than filling up the garden with plants I don’t want.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Afternoon daylight

  1. andy1076 says:

    That’s really cool though, If you were to create extracts for lotion or ointments right out of your own back yard πŸ™‚

  2. I too don’t think I will be growing marigolds next year. I thought they were good at repelling insects, pests, to the garden but they did not keep my cucumbers protected from the cucumber beetles=(. I also read this is not been proven for all marigolds and it is hard to know which to choose and which will be effective. Now I will fill in with more edible herbs!

    • Helen says:

      Yes, they don’t seem to be as effective as some other plants for repelling pests. I’ve found nasturtiums and rocket to be more effective on that front.

      On an aesthetic level, the plant itself seems less attractive to me – with stems dying off quite quickly.

      That said, I might as well keep the flowers I have now 😊

  3. Awesome update Helen thank you for sharing i must a meet this year i have not manage to grow ether marigolds or nasturtiums but will keep trying have a blessed day

  4. Kalamain says:

    Aside from misreading the title… *ahem*

    Some Marigolds smell better than others. African marigold ‘Lemon Gem’ has a wonderful lemon scent and can deter some insects because of the smell. It also attracts wasps and ladybugs, and they are predators.

    From what I have read Garlic tends to be the best for deterring a few insects… Other than alium loving ones that is!

  5. I prefer the look of nasturtiums, too. It sounds like you have a good plan for next year.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

