Fairburn Ings

I have been craving a walk in nature for a while. One place I had previously visited – about five years ago – struck me as particularly appealing, nor least because I would make more of it, now I have a greater understanding of birds and natural habitats.

Fairburn Ings is certainly a curious place. I was surprised to learn that the RSBP, which administers the nature reserve, had taken willows and reeds out of one lake to improve the habitat for birds. Never had I considered that this presumably naturally occurring flora might be an obstruction to fauna.


On the other hand, I can imagine that the coal on the land 


must inhibit the growth of trees and other wild plants. The landscape seemed quite bare, which made me feel sad, although I appreciate it takes more than a decade for formerly industrial land to reach its full potential as a nature reserve.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fairburn Ings

  1. Kalamain says:

    It’s much better in the summertime.

    I thought that the idea of Fairburn was that it was going to be allowed to naturally return to how it was. I know they planted a HUGE amount of trees but that was generally it.

    • Helen says:

      I can imagine it must be better in summer. It did feel somewhat desolate today.

      As for being able to naturally return to what it was, I wouldn’t like to say. Maybe like other places, they’ve realised that in getting from A to B you sometimes need a detour.

      • Kalamain says:

        If I recall right they did something similar to whole swathes of the fens near the Norfolk broads.

        • Helen says:

          As tried to let them go back to the way they had been formerly?

          • Kalamain says:

            Yes… This was a few years ago.. It was an effort to help soak up flood waters.
            Quite a lot of the area had been used and wasn’t good at allowing water to flood so they brought the fens back and lo and behold it all worked again.

            It’s only a massive irony that they are now having problems with the sea levels rising and threatening to salinate the whole region! >.<

          • Helen says:

            I wasn’t really aware of the fens being brought back. Of course, rising seas now…. so it isn’t just far away countries losing their shorelines!

  2. SallyAnn says:

    Seeing your post reminds me that I haven’t been on a good hike for a while. Having just moved a few miles closer to the edge of The Lincolnshire Wolds I should really get my walking boots on…

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

