Funky vegetables

Thankfully, I haven’t finished off the seed order I’ve been writing out for the past few weeks, as one of my presents today was seeds (with starter pots).


The instructions say to start them off from April onwards but this coming year I intend to start everything much earlier, so they are bigger when the time comes to plant them outside.

In the meantime, my daughter and I have been exploring the South Lincolnshire countryside, in search of a place to park and go for a walk. We did eventually find a spot, next to a massive pile of root vegetables (we couldn’t quite decide what) but isn’t it often the way that the best views are when you can’t stop?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Funky vegetables

  1. Kalamain says:

    LOL! Snap!

    I got the funky veg as a present, too. I also got a Bonsai starter kit as well.

    B-)

  2. Plant Theatre! What a fabulous gift, Helen. I’m excited to see how those produce for you. As for starting early, I don’t think there is anything to lose, as long as you start indoors or a greenhouse. My pumpkin seeds said to wait until May for planting, but all the best pumpkins came from the seeds the squirrels planted and they started growing in late February!

    As for that pile of vegetables, how funny to come across that. I wonder what the story is?

    • Helen says:

      The pile of vegetables will have just been dug up from the farmer’s field – i.e. possibly going straight in a lorry after Christmas for processing …. The shape and colour were a puzzle but it has just occurred to me that the roots could be sugar beet ☺.

      I’m surprised that your pumpkin packet recommended sowing in May – I certainly wouldn’t leave it till then here!

      • Ah. How wonderful to live close to farming communities. We were once an agricultural hub. Before we were known for tech, Silicon Valley was full of prune orchards, apricot trees, and myriad other crops. California is still big on ag, but it’s more in the central valley.

        My thoughts on the timing for the pumpkins, is that many grow them here for Halloween and Thanksgiving which fall in October and November. So working back on a 90 to 120 day crop, I guess they arrived at May. I’m letting my garden guide me these days.

        • Helen says:

          I see the rationale now for the May planting.

          Interesting to learn of some historical use of the land near you. At Christmas we were visiting my parents in a part of the country which is particularly rural. However, I’ve actually got farmers fields right behind my house, so even though the area is more urban, being right next to a big city, I do feel as though I’m in the countryside 😊.

          • Helen, that sounds like the perfect blend of both worlds, as urban settings have conveniences and rural settings are grounding in so many positive ways (open air, uncrowded, food-growing expanses that sooth the soul).

          • Helen says:

            Yes, it is a great location in many ways! Today we went into the city, only ten minutes on the train from us – very convenient 😊.

          • That is convenient. I love trains. The UK and Europe do an amazing job with public transportation. We are woefully behind the times here.

          • Helen says:

            Not having visited the States, I can’t compare but Britain is lacking in comparison with the continent, although I didn’t live in a a village in France or Germany.

            The train station here is about twenty-five minutes’ walk from the house but we have a family discount card which means a trip into our on-the-doorstep city only costs about $5 in comparison with the bus, which would be three times that.

          • Oh, that’s a shame to hear. I think the big cities get it right in many areas (like New York, Paris, London and Barcelona) . San Jose grew up and out too quickly, without a good plan in place. We have a large amount of housing on one side of the county, and lots of tech jobs on the other side. Commuting is brutal, with slowdowns and gridlock being the norm. I’m grateful for my self employment that allows me to set my own hours and work against the commute most of the time.

          • Helen says:

            The commute is a nightmare! It must be so much less stressful if you can work from home.

            My new year’s resolution, if you can call it that, is to work on putting myself in a better position to leave commuting behind.

          • Helen, that’s a wonderful new year’s goal. I’m still searching for my word of the year. It’s not coming to me as it has in prior years. Stay tuned!

          • Helen says:

            Thank you, Alys. Looking forward to your ‘word of the year’!

          • Thank you. I’m still searching…

  3. Karen says:

    I think you are right about the vegetables. We see fields with large piles like this and they are sugar beets…we’ve seen them in France, Germany and Austria.

  4. Blessing in sharing and a nice update Helen

  5. Lavinia Ross says:

    Merry Christmas, Helen!

    Quite a pile of sugar beets!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

